Should I stay or should I go

I’m reading about Osho, a 20th century master of knowledge. He’s talking about the power of awareness by doing things slow and consciously.

He clearly isn’t a bus driver in London.

I get was he is saying but the world doesn’t work like that. If he were a bus driver in London Osho wouldn’t be Osho. He’d just be someone aspiring to be like Osho.

That’s who I am right now. Except for the driver part. If I follow Osho’s advice to be 100% conscious, I can’t be doing what I’m doing. I’ll have change my lifestyle. No drugs, no hats, no triple chocolate cookies. Focusing on what’s needed, working towards a society that benefits all. But how can I change the world by setting myself apart from it?

By leaving an unconscious society to start a conscious lifestyle, I’ll also leave behind the people that need Osho’s advice the most. My colleagues, my friends, a stranger in the street, they can all learn something using me as the bridge. But if I leave, they’ll have one less chance of seeing beyond their own island.

That’s how I compare 3 states of being found in everyone that surrounds us: Rivers, Margins and the Bridges.

The River represent those who go with the flow. Free and fresh. lose and unpredictable. I’ve met a few people like this in my life, and I always admired them for not giving a fuck. They might wake up one day and regret a life of nothing, but then again, wouldn’t it be good if we could all strip from our mental polish and enjoy every single day for the first time?

The Margin represents those who work for themselves, only communicating with people that live by the same values and ideas. They get things going, and build essential structures that help our society thrive through their eyes. Undisturbed, they work amazingly well. The downside of Margins is that they get distressed when questioned. A designated Margin can’t physically communicate with another Margin because they’re too far apart from each other. Religion, Politics, and well… Parents, are examples of this.

The Bridge. A man made structure that solves a man made problem – Communication. Unlike Margins, Bridge people adapt. Their ideas don’t proliferate far as the Margins’ do, but the Margins’ ideas will eventually come to an end without bridges. It’s the yin & yang of human evolution. Bridges see the potential in a correlated world by connecting  ideas, cultures, politics, beliefs – they make margins understand each other. They go outside their bubble of comfort to make the world go further. Those are the cases of Ghandi, Martin Luther King and that random person that helped you carry that heavy luggage on the tube. Creators of frequencies that allow us to let go and see through what really matters – beyond our differences. Beyond our egos.

I find Bridge people the most appealing. But I don’t think I’m one yet. First, I must create solid grounds for others to trust they can find their way through me. Sounds very philosophical, but that’s just how bridges are made.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

